Villa Tirana - The new residential program in Albania

In 2024, Art Explora Foundation will launch a new residency program in Albania, offering production, exhibition and meeting spaces, with a particular focus on artists from Albania and the cultural scenes of the Western Balkans.

On Tuesday October 17, 2023, French President Emmanuel Macron and Albanian Prime Minister Edi Rama attended the signing of the partnership agreement between Art Explora Foundation and the Albanian Ministry of Culture.

Villa Tirana

Located in Villa 31, the former residence of dictator Enver Hoxha, the residency program will welcome up to 20 artists, researchers and doctoral students each year, who will benefit from working, production and exhibition spaces to develop their research.

Scheduled to open in autumn 2024, Villa Tirana will support contemporary creation in all its forms from a transdisciplinary, transnational and transgenerational perspective. Villa Tirana will also support local initiatives, independent artist-run spaces, publishing houses, archives and research centers, drawing on a solid network of art professionals, curators, researchers and cultural players.

Special attention will be paid to artists and researchers based in the Western Balkans, while welcoming renowned international artists. Villa Tirana will offer an ambitious and lively cultural program, designed in collaboration with art institutions, local and international galleries, municipalities, art centers, schools and associations, including exhibitions, workshops, film screenings, discussions, seminars and festivals. The public will be regularly invited to meet the residents, discover their research and take part in the various events organized at Villa Tirana.

Calendar :

  • March 2024: Launch of the call for bids
  • June 2024: Transdisciplinary seminar in Pristina
  • Autumn 2024: Start of the first residency session / Performance festival in Tirana
  • March 2025: Start of second residency session
  • Spring 2025: Transdisciplinary seminar in Tirana / Performance festival in Skopje
  • September 2025: End of the second residency session

@Philipp Funke
@Philipp Funke
@Philipp Funke

Become partner of the programme

No items found.
No items found.

Villa Tirana - Le nouveau programme de résidences en Albanie

La fondation Art Explora lancera en 2024 un nouveau programme de résidences en Albanie proposant des espaces de production, d’exposition et de rencontre, qui portera une attention particulière aux artistes d’Albanie et des scènes culturelles des Balkans occidentaux.

Le mardi 17 octobre 2023, le Président de la République Emmanuel Macron et le Premier Ministre Albanais Edi Rama, sont venus assister à la signature de la convention du partenariat entre la Fondation Art Explora et le Ministère de la Culture Albanais.

La Villa Tirana

Situé dans la Villa 31, ancienne résidence du dictateur Enver Hoxha, le programme de résidence accueillera chaque année jusqu’à 20 artistes, chercheurs et doctorants, qui bénéficieront d’espaces de travail, de production et d’exposition pour développer leurs recherches.

Avec une inauguration prévue à l’automne 2024, la Villa Tirana soutient la création contemporaine sous toutes ses formes dans une perspective transdisciplinaire, transnationale et transgénérationnelle. La Villa Tirana soutiendra également des initiatives locales, des espaces indépendants gérés par des artistes, des maisons d’édition, des archives et des centres de recherche, s’appuyant sur un solide réseau de professionnels de l’art, de commissaires d’exposition, de chercheurs et d’acteurs culturels.

Une attention particulière sera accordée aux artistes et chercheurs basés dans les Balkans occidentaux tout en accueillant des artistes internationaux de renom. La Villa Tirana proposera un programme culturel ambitieux et vivant, conçu en collaboration avec des institutions artistiques, des galeries locales et internationales, des municipalités, des centres d’art, des écoles et des associations, comprenant des expositions, des workshops, des projections de films, des discussions, des séminaires et des festivals. Le public sera régulièrement invité à rencontrer les résidents, à découvrir leurs recherches et à participer aux différents événements organisés à la Villa Tirana.

Calendrier :

  • Mars 2024 : Lancement de l’appel à candidatures
  • Juin 2024 : Séminaire transdisciplinaire à Pristina
  • Automne 2024 : Début de la première session de résidence / Festival de performance à Tirana
  • Mars 2025 : Début de la deuxième session de résidence
  • Printemps 2025 : Séminaire transdisciplinaire à Tirana / Festival de performance à Skopje
  • Septembre 2025 : Fin de la deuxième session de résidences

@Philipp Funke
@Philipp Funke
@Philipp Funke

Devenez partenaire du projet

Become partner of the programme

No items found.
No items found.
No items found.
No items found.