The Art Explora mobile museum in the UK in collaboration with Tate and MuMo

The Mobile Museum is a unique truck touring an exhibition from the Tate national collection, on a mission to make great art accessible to everyone, everywhere - across towns, villages and remote locations. The Mobile Museum offers a programme of exhibition visits and educational, participatory art workshops in partnership with schools and community groups

Soup, Socks and Spiders! Art of the Everyday

The Mobile Museum is touring the Tate exhibition Soup, Socks and Spiders !Art of the Everyday across the Midlands and North West from 19 February until 11 May, 2024. On this 12-week tour, the Mobile Museum is visiting communities in Ashfield, Nuneaton, Stoke-on-Trent, Tarporley, Walsall and Wigan.

Bookings are now open for mobile museum tours and workshops at Haigh Hall from April 8 to 13!

Location details and free public booking options for tours and workshops updated every Monday!

21 & 24 February                          Nuneaton & Bedworth        

28 February & 2 March                Walsall Wood

6 & 9 March                                   Kirkby-in-Ashfield

13 & 16 March                                Hucknall

20 & 23 March                              Sutton-in-Ashfield

27 & 28 March                              Burslem

29 - 31 March & 2 - 6 April          Hanley

8 - 13 April                                     Haigh

17 & 20 April                                 Maltby

23 & 25 April                                Tarporley

1 & 4 May                                     Leigh

6 & 11 May                                    Walsall & Wilenhall

Real Master Productions

Soup, Socks and Spider!

Art of the Everyday

This exhibition brings together historic and contemporary works of art from Tate’s collection which present everyday objects in unexpected ways, making the ordinary extraordinary. From Andy Warhol’s celebrated Campbell’s soup can to a spider found by Cornelia Parker in the Tower of London, Art of the Everyday encourages us to look more closely at the world around us.   

Artists have always depicted objects from their everyday lives. The genre of ‘still life’ – assembling a group of items like jugs, fruit and flowers on a table to draw or paint – tells us what objects artists considered important or interesting to record. In the early 20th century, as modern art was developing, artists started to use household items in their work. These ordinary objects were cheap and readily available, allowing them to experiment, challenge expectations of what is considered art, and test out new ways of seeing the world.

Real Master Productions
Real Master Productions

Tate Liverpool and the Mobile Museum

The MuMo (Mobile Museum) was created by Ingrid Brochard and designed by artist Matali Crasset.

To find out more about MuMo's UK tour, contact us at mumouk@artexplora.org

"I loved seeing the excitement in the children's faces. Before the trip, I asked if anyone had ever been to an art gallery, and no one had so this was a really great experience for my class. The children love art and left feeling inspired.’’

Teacher

"It was absolutely fabulous to be able to access such wonderful art close to our home."

Visitor

About Tate Liverpool

Tate Liverpool is one of the city's most iconic cultural institutions, located on the Royal Albert Dock. The gallery houses part of the national collection of modern and contemporary art, as do Tate Modern, Tate Britain and Tate St Ives. Tate Liverpool reaches out to all communities in the region with projects such as the Mobile Museum, which enables the gallery to tell the story of art through the prism of the city of Liverpool and the north of the country.

About MuMo

The MuMo (MuséeMobile or Mobile Museum) was founded in France in 2011 by Ingrid Brochard to make modern and contemporary art accessible to those who do not typically have access to it. School children, and social or care organisations, as well as families and the inhabitants of the towns and villages can benefit from the exhibition and discovery workshops close to their homes thanks to the reach of the MuMo.

The 2023 UK tour of the Mobile Museum is brought to you by Art Explora in collaboration with Tate and MuMo. MuMo (‘Mobile Museum’) was founded by Ingrid Brochard, designed by Matali Crasset, with the support of the Fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso. Art Explora is grateful to Gallagher and Hiscox for providing the insurance for this project.

Photo: The Art Explora mobile museum in collaboration with Tate and Mumo. Photo Peter Byrne PA Wire

Copyright: Adagp,Paris, 2023

The Mobile Museum is a unique traveling exhibition from Tate's national collection, whose mission is to make great art accessible to everyone, everywhere - in cities, villages and remote locations. The Mobile Museum offers a program of exhibition visits and educational, participatory art workshops in partnership with schools and community groups.

Since 2011, the MuMo :

  • has had 150 000 visitors from 7 countries across Europe and Africa
  • 50% of the children who visited in had never been to a museum before
  • 50% of the villages the MuMo visited had less than 2,000 inhabitants or were in Urban Policy Districts
«The beauty of MuMo lies in its ability to bring together people who might not have otherwise connected through art.»

Ingrid Brochard, Founder of MuMo

The Radical Landscapes exhibition

First ever UK tour :

In Spring 2023, the Art Explora Mobile Museum in collaboration with Tate and MuMo toured artworks from the Tate Radical Landscapes exhibition around the Liverpool City Region.
This was the first time Tate toured works from the national collection directly to communities, and the first time the MuMo travelled to the UK. During this 10-week tour, the Mobile Museum visited locations in St Helens, Knowsley, Sefton, Wirral, Halton and Liverpool.
Gareth Jones

The exhibition on board the Art Explora Mobile Museum included a selection of works from Radical Landscapes, which was first shown at Tate Liverpool in Summer 2022.

The exhibition featured works by JMW Turner, John Constable, Henry Moore, Barbara Hepworth, John Nash, Jeremy Deller and many more. The Mobile Museum also included artworks by leading contemporary artists such as 2022 Turner Prize winner Veronica Ryan and shortlisted artist, Ingrid Pollard. This project is supported by Art Explora with public funding from the National Lottery through Arts Council England.

Gareth Jones

Gareth Jones

The 2023 MuMo x Tate tour in numbers :

  • 4036 visitors
  • 10 locations
  • 40 schools

The MuMo (Mobile Museum) was created by Ingrid Brochard and designed by artist Matali Crasset.

To find out more about MuMo's UK tour, contact us at mumouk@artexplora.org

"I loved seeing the excitement in the children's faces. Before the trip, I asked if anyone had ever been to an art gallery, and no one had so this was a really great experience for my class. The children love art and left feeling inspired.’’

Teacher

"It was absolutely fabulous to be able to access such wonderful art close to our home."

Visitor

About Tate Liverpool

Tate Liverpool is one of the city's most iconic cultural institutions, located on the Royal Albert Dock. The gallery houses part of the national collection of modern and contemporary art, as do Tate Modern, Tate Britain and Tate St Ives. Tate Liverpool reaches out to all communities in the region with projects such as the Mobile Museum, which enables the gallery to tell the story of art through the prism of the city of Liverpool and the north of the country.

About MuMo

The MuMo (MuséeMobile or Mobile Museum) was founded in France in 2011 by Ingrid Brochard to make modern and contemporary art accessible to those who do not typically have access to it. School children, and social or care organisations, as well as families and the inhabitants of the towns and villages can benefit from the exhibition and discovery workshops close to their homes thanks to the reach of the MuMo.

The 2023 UK tour of the Mobile Museum is brought to you by Art Explora in collaboration with Tate and MuMo. MuMo (‘Mobile Museum’) was founded by Ingrid Brochard, designed by Matali Crasset, with the support of the Fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso. Art Explora is grateful to Gallagher and Hiscox for providing the insurance for this project.

Photo: The Art Explora mobile museum in collaboration with Tate and Mumo. Photo Peter Byrne PA Wire

Copyright: Adagp,Paris, 2023

The Mobile Museum is a unique traveling exhibition from Tate's national collection, whose mission is to make great art accessible to everyone, everywhere - in cities, villages and remote locations. The Mobile Museum offers a program of exhibition visits and educational, participatory art workshops in partnership with schools and community groups.

Since 2011, the MuMo :

  • has had 150 000 visitors from 7 countries across Europe and Africa
  • 50% of the children who visited in had never been to a museum before
  • 50% of the villages the MuMo visited had less than 2,000 inhabitants or were in Urban Policy Districts
«The beauty of MuMo lies in its ability to bring together people who might not have otherwise connected through art.»

Ingrid Brochard, Founder of MuMo

Le musée mobile Art Explora au Royaume-Uni en collaboration avec la Tate et le MuMo

Le Musée mobile est une exposition itinérante unique de la collection nationale de la Tate, dont la mission est de rendre le grand art accessible à tous, partout - dans les villes, les villages et les endroits isolés. Le Mobile Museum propose un programme de visites d'expositions et d'ateliers artistiques éducatifs et participatifs en partenariat avec des écoles et des groupes communautaires.

Soup, Socks and Spiders! Art of the Everyday

Le Musée mobile fait tourner l'exposition de la Tate intitulée Soup, Socks and Spiders !Art of the Everyday à travers les Midlands et le Nord-Ouest du 19 février au 11 mai 2024. Au cours de cette tournée de 12 semaines, le Mobile Museum visitera des communautés à Ashfield, Nuneaton, Stoke-on-Trent, Tarporley, Walsall et Wigan.

Bookings now open for Mobile Museum exhibition tours and workshops at Walsall Wood, Oak Park Active Living Centre 28 February & 2 March

Les détails des lieux et les options de réservation publique gratuite pour les visites et les ateliers sont mis à jour tous les lundis !

21 & 24 Février                          Nuneaton & Bedworth        

28 Février & 2 Mars                  Walsall Wood

6 & 9 Mars                                    Kirkby-in-Ashfield

13 & 16 Mars                                 Hucknall

20 & 23 Mars                               Sutton-in-Ashfield

27 & 28 Mars                                Burslem

29 - 31 Mars &  2 - 6 Avril          Hanley

8 - 13 Avril                                       Haigh

17 & 20 Avril                                   Maltby

23 & 25 Avril                                   Tarporley

1 & 4 Mai                                        Leigh

6 & 11 Mai                                      Walsall & Wilenhall

Soup, Socks and Spider!

Art of the Everyday

Cette exposition rassemble des œuvres d'art historiques et contemporaines de la collection de la Tate qui présentent des objets quotidiens de manière inattendue, rendant l'ordinaire extraordinaire. De la célèbre boîte de soupe Campbell d'Andy Warhol à l'araignée trouvée par Cornelia Parker dans la Tour de Londres, Art of the Everyday (L’Art du quotidien) nous encourage à regarder de plus près le monde qui nous entoure.   

Les artistes ont toujours représenté des objets de leur vie quotidienne. Le genre de la "nature morte", qui consiste à assembler un groupe d'objets tels que des cruches, des fruits et des fleurs sur une table pour les dessiner ou les peindre, nous indique les objets que les artistes considéraient comme importants ou intéressants à enregistrer. Au début du XXe siècle, alors que l'art moderne se développait, les artistes ont commencé à utiliser des objets ménagers dans leurs œuvres. Ces objets ordinaires étaient bon marché et facilement disponibles, ce qui leur permettait d'expérimenter, de remettre en question les attentes de ce qui est considéré comme de l'art et detester de nouvelles façons de voir le monde.

Tate Liverpool et le Musée-Mobile

Le MuMo (Musée Mobile) a été créé par Ingrid Brochard et conçu par l'artiste Matali Crasset.

Pour en savoir plus sur la tournée du MuMo au Royaume-Uni, contactez nous à l'adresse email mumouk@artexplora.org

"J'ai adoré voir l'excitation sur le visage des enfants. Avant le voyage, j'ai demandé si quelqu'un avait déjà visité une galerie d'art, et personne ne l'avait fait ce qui fut une expérience très enrichissante. Les enfants adorent l'art et sont repartis inspirés.''

Enseignant

"C'était absolument fabuleux de pouvoir accéder à des œuvres d'art aussi merveilleuses près de chez nous. "

Visiteur

À propos de la Tate Liverpool

Tate Liverpool est l'une des institutions culturelles les plus emblématiques de la ville, située sur le Royal Albert Dock. La galerie héberge une partie de la collection nationale exposant des oeuvres d'art moderne et contemporain comme le font également la Tate Modern, la Tate Britain et la Tate St Ives. La Tate Liverpool s'adresse à toutes les communautés de la région avec des projet comme le Musée Mobile qui permet à la galerie de raconter l'histoire de l'art à travers le prisme de la ville de Liverpool et du nord du pays.

À propos du MuMo

Le MuMo (Musée Mobile) a été créé en France en 2011 par Ingrid Brochard afin de partager l'art moderne et contemporain avec ceux qui n'y ont habituellement pas facilement accès. Les scolaires, les organisations sociales ou médicales mais aussi les familles et les habitants des villes et villages peuvent profiter de l'exposition mobile et d'atelier de découverte près de chez eux. Le MuMo a été designé par Matali Crasset et a reçu le soutien de la fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso.

Cette tournée britannique du MuMo a été développée par Art Explora en collaboration avec la Tate et le MuMo.

Photo : Le musée mobile Art Explora en collaboration avec la Tate et le Mumo. Photo Peter Byrne PA Wire

Copyright: Adagp,Paris, 2023

Le Mobile Museum est une exposition itinérante unique de la collection nationale de la Tate, dont la mission est de rendre le grand art accessible à tous, partout - dans les villes, les villages et les endroits isolés. Le Mobile Museum propose un programme de visites d'expositions et d'ateliers artistiques éducatifs et participatifs en partenariat avec des écoles et des groupes communautaires.

Depuis 2011, le MuMo c'est:

  • 150 000 visiteurs rencontrés à travers 7 pays d’Europe et d’Afrique
  • 50 % des enfants accueillis n’étaient jamais allés au musée avant
  • 50% d’étapes dans des villages de moins de 2 000 habitants ou en Quartiers Politique de la Ville
«C’est cela la magie du MuMo : rassembler des habitants pour qui l’art est un point de rencontre insoupçonné.»

Ingrid Brochard, Fondatrice du MuMo

L'exposition Radical Landscapes

La première tournée du MuMo au Royaume-Uni :

Le musée mobile Art Explora a fait voyager, en collaboration avec le MuMo, des oeuvres d'art issues de l'exposition Radical Landscapes de la Tate dans toute la région de Liverpool au printemps 2023.
C'était la première fois que la Tate mettait en place un tel dispositif permettant d'amener des oeuvres de la collection nationale au plus près des publics. C'était aussi la première fois que le MuMo se déployait au Royaume-Uni. Pendant 10 semaines, le musée mobile s'est rendu dans différentes locations à St Helens, Knowsley, Sefton, Wirral, Halton et Liverpool.
© Gareth Jones

L'exposition à bord du musée mobile présentait une sélection d'oeuvres issues de l'exposition Radical Landscapes présentée au cours de l'été 2022 au sein de la Tate Liverpool.

L'exposition présentait des œuvres de JMW Turner, John Constable, Henry Moore, Barbara Hepworth, John Nash, Jeremy Deller et bien d'autres. Le musée mobile comprenait également des œuvres d'artistes contemporains de premier plan, tels que Veronica Ryan, lauréate du prix Turner 2022, et Ingrid Pollard, artiste présélectionnée. Cette tournée est soutenue par le Conseil des arts d'Angleterre.

© Gareth Jones

© Gareth Jones

La tournée 2023 du MuMo x Tate en chiffres :

  • 4036 visiteurs
  • 10 localisations
  • 40 écoles

Le MuMo (Musée Mobile) a été créé par Ingrid Brochard et conçu par l'artiste Matali Crasset.

Pour en savoir plus sur la tournée du MuMo au Royaume-Uni, contactez nous à l'adresse email mumouk@artexplora.org

"J'ai adoré voir l'excitation sur le visage des enfants. Avant le voyage, j'ai demandé si quelqu'un avait déjà visité une galerie d'art, et personne ne l'avait fait ce qui fut une expérience très enrichissante. Les enfants adorent l'art et sont repartis inspirés.''

Enseignant

"C'était absolument fabuleux de pouvoir accéder à des œuvres d'art aussi merveilleuses près de chez nous. "

Visiteur

À propos de la Tate Liverpool

Tate Liverpool est l'une des institutions culturelles les plus emblématiques de la ville, située sur le Royal Albert Dock. La galerie héberge une partie de la collection nationale exposant des oeuvres d'art moderne et contemporain comme le font également la Tate Modern, la Tate Britain et la Tate St Ives. La Tate Liverpool s'adresse à toutes les communautés de la région avec des projet comme le Musée Mobile qui permet à la galerie de raconter l'histoire de l'art à travers le prisme de la ville de Liverpool et du nord du pays.

À propos du MuMo

Le MuMo (Musée Mobile) a été créé en France en 2011 par Ingrid Brochard afin de partager l'art moderne et contemporain avec ceux qui n'y ont habituellement pas facilement accès. Les scolaires, les organisations sociales ou médicales mais aussi les familles et les habitants des villes et villages peuvent profiter de l'exposition mobile et d'atelier de découverte près de chez eux. Le MuMo a été designé par Matali Crasset et a reçu le soutien de la fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso.

Cette tournée britannique du MuMo a été développée par Art Explora en collaboration avec la Tate et le MuMo.

Photo : Le musée mobile Art Explora en collaboration avec la Tate et le Mumo. Photo Peter Byrne PA Wire

Copyright: Adagp,Paris, 2023

Le Mobile Museum est une exposition itinérante unique de la collection nationale de la Tate, dont la mission est de rendre le grand art accessible à tous, partout - dans les villes, les villages et les endroits isolés. Le Mobile Museum propose un programme de visites d'expositions et d'ateliers artistiques éducatifs et participatifs en partenariat avec des écoles et des groupes communautaires.

Depuis 2011, le MuMo c'est:

  • 150 000 visiteurs rencontrés à travers 7 pays d’Europe et d’Afrique
  • 50 % des enfants accueillis n’étaient jamais allés au musée avant
  • 50% d’étapes dans des villages de moins de 2 000 habitants ou en Quartiers Politique de la Ville
«C’est cela la magie du MuMo : rassembler des habitants pour qui l’art est un point de rencontre insoupçonné.»

Ingrid Brochard, Fondatrice du MuMo